Co-workers Access Rights
Here are three types of Co-workers within your Exotel account
- Admins
- Users
- Supervisors
You can spot the difference between them from the icons in the ‘Co-workers and Groups’ section.
Admin

User:

Supervisor:

You can change the role of a co-worker by selecting the appropriate option in the Add/Edit Co-workers popup. Click on the settings icon to get the Edit user details page view.


NOTE: If you change an existing co-worker’s role, they would need to logout and login again for updated permissions to reflect.
Each of these Co-workers types has access to different features and functions within the product as defined below.
Section | Action | Admin | Supervisor | User |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Inbox | View/Listen/Delete messages to all groups and Co-workers | Yes | No | No |
| View/Listen/Delete messages to the group to which the Co-workers belong | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| View/Listen/Delete messages directed to the Co-workers | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Add notes to messages | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Call widget | Make an outbound call | Yes | Yes | Yes |
SMS Widget | Send an SMS | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Address Book | Create/Edit/Delete Contacts View/Edit the contacts created by other users | Yes | Yes | Yes |
App Bazaar | Create/Edit/Delete Call Apps Create/Edit/Delete SMS Apps | Yes | No | No |
Exophones | View the Exophones bought by you Connect a number with a Call/SMS App Purchase a new number | Yes | No | No |
Reports | Download call and SMS reports | Yes | No | No |
Analytics | View user’s On/Off state | Yes | No | No |
Co-workers & Groups | View co-workers/groups | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Co-workers & Groups | Add,Delete & Edit Co-workers Details | Yes | No | No |
Cogno AI Chat Bot | Access to the Exotel chat support | Yes | No | No |
Campaigns | Schedule Bulk SMS to a selected list | Yes | No | No |
FAQ page | Frequently Asked Questions | Yes | Yes | Yes |
My Account | Personal Info | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Settings | Access Settings page | Yes | No | No |
KYC Docs | Access KYC Docs page | Yes | No | No |
Bill Plan | Access Bill Plan page | Yes | No | No |
Make a Payment | Access Payment page | Yes | No | No |
View Bills | Access Invoice/Bills page | Yes | No | No |
Payment History | Access the Payment history page | Yes | No | No |
Admins can override access to some of these permissions by using the Access Control page.

- Simply check and uncheck options against the respective role to allow or remove access.
- The allowed pages would be visible to the Supervisor/User respectively.
- Pages such as co-workers and campaigns will have read-only access for Supervisors and Users by default.
- To provide admin-like privileges to particular supervisors so that they can act as Admin for the pages they have access to, kindly write to [email protected] for getting that configured.
Please note we have introduced a new access right for supervisors to allow them to view all the calls on the account and the same can be controlled via Access Control.
Watch a short video
Giving someone Administrator or Supervisor rights